Header Image

Mongolian Holidays

Jan 01 New Years Day
Jan/Feb Mongolian Lunar New Year*
Feb 14 Valentine’s Day
Mar 08 Woman’s Day
Mar 18 Soldier’s Day
Apr 01 Fool’s Day
May 01 May Day
June 01 Children’s Day
July11-13 Naadam Festival
Sep 01 Beginning of school year
Nov 26 Independence Day

* Mongolian Lunar New Year is different every year.

About Mongolia

A landlocked parliamentary republic in Central and East Asia, Mongolia is bordered by Russia (to the north) and the People’s Republic of China (to the south, east and west). Its capital Ulaanbaatar is home to more than a third of the country’s population of approximately 2.9 million.

As one of the world’s 20 largest countries by land mass, it is also the most sparsely populated country on earth. Much of Mongolia’s area is covered by steppes and mountains, and the country is also home to the Gobi Desert.

Historically, the region was ruled by nomadic empires, most famously the Mongol Empire founded by Chinggis Khaan (Genghis Khan) in 1206. In the 16th and 17th centuries, the country was under the influence of Tibetan Buddhism, which is still the primary religion. From the end of the 17th century, Mongolia fell under the rule of China’s Qing or Manchu Dynasty. It remained so until 1911, when Mongolia declared its independence.

After a decade of struggle, Mongolia achieved de facto independence from the Republic of China in 1921, only to fall under strong Soviet influence a few years after. While gaining international recognition in 1945, it wasn’t until after 1989, with the fall of communist regimes in Eastern Europe, that Mongolia experienced true independence. It now enjoys a multi-party system, a constitution (1992) and a market economy.


Local time: 03:52
Wednesday, May 22, 2024